

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

Faculty Appeals Committee Election Candidate Biographical Information

Group I

Eugene Avrutin, History

Eugene M. Avrutin is Professor of History and Tobor Family Scholar in the Program of Jewish Culture and Society. He is the Associate Director of Jewish Studies. He has served on various departmental, university, and national committees, including graduate admissions, teaching observation, fellowship and grant applications, book prizes, and NEH summer stipends review. https://history.illinois.edu/directory/profile/eavrutin

Group II

Gilberto Rosas, Latina/o Studies and Anthropology

Dr. Rosas is an associate professor in the Department of Latina/o Studies and in the Department of Anthropology. He has served on the advisory committee in both departments, and regularly chairs the Diversity Committee in the Department of Anthropology. He has also served on multiple review committees of the leadership in both departments as well as faculty, and currently serves on the Graduate College Fellowship Board.

Group III

Laurence Mall, French & Italian

Laurence Mall is an associate professor of French. She has served on the General Education Board, on the LAS Courses and Curricula committee, and several times on the Executive Committee of the School of Literatures, Cultures and Linguistics. Her departmental responsibilities include acting Director of Graduate Studies, graduate advisor in French Studies, and participation in numerous departmental committees.

Group IV

Leanne Knobloch, Communication

Leanne Knobloch is a professor in the Department of Communication. She joined the faculty in 2002 and has served as the department's Director of Graduate Study since 2014. Her campus service includes the LAS Nominating Committee (2016-18), the LAS Selection Committee for the Lincoln Excellence for Assistant Professor (LEAP) Scholars (2016-18), and the Steering Committee for Research of the Center for Wounded Veterans in Higher Education (2014-present). She also is a member of the Science Advisory Board of the Military Child Education Coalition. http://faculty.las.illinois.edu/knobl/index.html

Group V

Stefan Krasa, Economics

Stefan Krasa is a Professor of Economics and the Leslie A. Watt Professorial Scholar. He is currently the Director of Graduate Studies, has been the chair of the department's Ph.D. admissions since 2014, and has served on various other Departmental committees, such as recruiting and promotion and tenure. He was a member of the LAS Curriculum and Courses Committee (2007-2009).

Group VI

Supriya Prasanth, Cell and Developmental Biology

Dr. Supriya Prasanth is an associate professor in the Department of Cell and Developmental Biology, at the School of Molecular and Cellular Biology. She has served on the advisory committee to the head of the department of CDB. She has served on multiple School and college committees including the MCB Director Search Committee (LAS), Graduate Recruitment committee (MCB), Courses and Curriculum Committee (MCB), Postdoctoral affairs Office Advisory committee (The Graduate College) and Faculty development program committee (Division of Biomedical Sciences). Also, Dr. Prasanth has served on national grant review panels for the National Science Foundation and for the National Institutes of Health, including serving as a co-chair for MGA panel. She has also served as a reviewer for several International grant applications.

Charles Roseman, Animal Biology

Charles Roseman is an Associate Professor of Animal Biology. He is currently a Faculty Senator and has served on the Senate for four two year terms and on the Senate Curriculum Committee. He has served on the Executive Committee of the Department of Anthropology and was in charge of that department's diversity action plan committee. He has also served on the admissions committee for the campus-wide Program in Ecology, Evolution, and Conservation graduate program.

Group VII

M. Christina White, Chemistry

Dr. White is a professor of chemistry. She serves on the advisory committee to the head of the department (2013-present) and has served on multiple departmental committees including the faculty search committee (2016-present), graduate admissions committee (2005-2010), graduate recruiting committee (2005-2010). Also, Dr. White is on the research advisory board for Carle Illinois College of Medicine. Dr. White has chaired subcommittees for the American Chemical Society, and served on national grant review panels for the National Science Foundation and the National Institutes of Health as both an ad hoc and permanent member (2010-2015).

Stephen Nesbitt, Atmospheric Sciences

Dr. Nesbitt is an associate professor of Atmospheric Sciences in the School of Earth Society, and Environment, with affiliate appointments in the Computational Science and Engineering program and the Center for Latin American Studies. He has served and chaired on numerous department committees including the department executive committee, curriculum committee, and faculty searches. He served on the LAS Policy and Development Committee, Honors Council, Dean's Faculty Information Team, and two terms on the General Education Council. He has served the American Meteorological Society as Editor of the *Journal of Applied Meteorology and Climatology*, chaired the national conference on Radar Meteorology, and chaired the Radar Meteorology Committee, for the last he was given an *AMS Distinguished Service Award*.

URL: https://www.atmos.illinois.edu/people/snesbitt

Group VIII

Jared Bronski, Mathematics

Jared Bronski is a Professor of Mathematics. He has served a number of terms on the Mathematics Department Executive Committee and Promotion and Tenure committee. He was a member of the Faculty Senate from 2002--2004, during which time he chaired the Senate committee on University Student Life and served on several other committees including the ad-hoc Assembly Hall Review Committee.