LAS Executive Committee Spring 2019 Election Candidate Biographical Information

Group I

Antonios Augoustakis is Professor and Head of Classics and Langan Professorial Scholar in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences. He has additional appointments in Medieval Studies, Comparative and World Literature, Translation Studies, and in Media and Cinema Studies. He joined Illinois in 2009 and has served since then on numerous departmental, school, college, and campus committees. He was President of the Classical Association of the Middle West and South in 2016 and has received the Excellence in Teaching Award from the Society for Classical Studies. He is the author of several monographs and volumes in his field of specialty (Latin literature), and he is currently the editor of the Classical Journal. Augoustakis holds a BA from the University of Crete, Greece and a PhD from Brown University. http://publish.illinois.edu/aaugoust/

Dana Rabin, is Professor of History. In the Department of History she has served as Director of Undergraduate Studies (2007-2009) and Director of Graduate Studies and Associate Chair (2010-2012). She has also served as the Associate Director of the Program in Jewish Culture and Society; on Graduate College Executive Committee; and on the advisory boards for the Illinois Program for Research in the Humanities and the Program in Global Studies. In addition to several terms on the Faculty Senate, she has served on the Senate's Committee on Committees and the Committee on Student Discipline. Most recently, she filled in for a colleague on the LAS Executive Committee from October 2018 until April 2019.

http://www.history.illinois.edu/people/drabin

Group III

Robert Rushing Robert Rushing is Professor of Italian and Comparative Literature, and holds affiliate appointments with the Unit for Media and Cinema Studies, the Unit for Criticism and Interpretive Theory and the European Union Center. His research focuses on gender, genre, critical theory, and cinematic, televisual, literary and cultural studies, with publications ranging from Calvino and Ovid to *Mad Men* and Antonioni. His most recent book, on biopolitics and epic cinema, won the American Association for Italian Studies' best book in film/media prize in 2016. Professor Rushing's service includes previous service on the LAS Executive Committee. He has a particular interest in and passion for teaching; he has won the Humanities Council Teaching Excellence Award (2008), as well as the LAS and campus-level awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching (2018). In addition to publishing extensively on Italian and North American film and television, he has edited Indiana University Press' "New Directions in National Cinema" series since 2015.

http://faculty.complit.illinois.edu/rrushing/

LAS Executive Committee Spring 2019 Election Candidate Biographical Information

Group V

Kara Federmeier Kara Federmeier is a Professor in the Department of Psychology and a full-time faculty member at the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. She has been on the faculty at UIUC since 2002, after receiving her B.S. in Honors Biology from UIUC and her Ph.D. in Cognitive Science from UCSD. She is currently co-leader of the Illinois Language and Literacy Initiative, has been the Cognitive Division Head within the Department of Psychology, and has served on a number of departmental and campus committees, including the Department of Psychology executive committee, the Beckman Institute executive committee, the Neuroscience Program executive committee, the Chancellor/Provost faculty consultation group, the Campus Research Board, the University Scholars selection committee, the LAS honors council, and the campus strategic plan working group. She is currently the immediate past-president of the Society for Psychophysiology and is Editor of Psychology of Learning and Motivation. She was named a University Scholar in 2012 and is a Fellow of the Association for Psychological Science and of the Psychonomic Society. Her research, reported in more than 100 peer-reviewed publications, examines the neurobiological mechanisms by which meaning is derived from words and other sensory information.

https://psychology.illinois.edu/directory/profile/kfederme

Group VII

Douglas Mitchell, received his undergraduate degree in chemistry from Carnegie Mellon University in 2002. After a short internship in medicinal chemistry at Merck Research Laboratories, he obtained his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley in 2006. For postdoctoral studies, he worked with Jack Dixon at the University of California, San Diego. Professor Mitchell joined the University of Illinois faculty in 2009 and has research interests that span the interface of chemistry and biology. <u>https://chemistry.illinois.edu/douglasm</u>

Donald J. Wuebbles is the Harry E. Preble Professor of Atmospheric Science at the University of Illinois. He is also a Presidential Fellow at the University of Illinois, with the aim of helping the university system develop new initiatives in urban sustainability. From 2015 to early 2017, Dr. Wuebbles was Assistant Director with the Office of Science and Technology Policy at the Executive Office of the President in Washington DC, where he was the White House expert on climate science. He was Head of the Department of Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Illinois from 1994 to 2006. Dr. Wuebbles led the development of the School of Earth, Society, and Environment, and was its first director. While Department Head, he led the development of two highly successful undergraduate programs, one in Atmospheric Sciences, and the other, an interdisciplinary major, in Earth, Society and Environmental Sustainability (ESES).

Dr. Wuebbles is an expert in atmospheric physics and chemistry, with over 500 scientific publications related to the Earth's climate, air quality, and the stratospheric ozone layer. However, his work goes well beyond that through providing analyses and development of metrics used in national and international policy and in developing analyses for understanding climate impacts on society and ecosystems, plus potential resilience and

LAS Executive Committee Spring 2019 Election Candidate Biographical Information

societal responses. He has co-authored a number of international and national scientific assessments, including being a Coordinating Lead Author on several international climate assessments led by the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) that resulted in IPCC being awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. He was a leader in both the 2013 IPCC international assessment of climate science and the 2014 3rd U.S. National Climate Assessment. More recently, he co-led the first volume of the 4th U.S. National Climate Assessment published in November 2017 that assesses the science of climate change and its effects on the United States, as required by the U.S. Congress under the 1990 Global Change Act. He also coauthored Volume 2 of the 4th U.S. National Climate Assessment, released in November 2018. He led a new assessment on the impacts of climate change on the Great Lakes that was published in March 2019.

https://www.atmos.illinois.edu/cms/One.aspx?portalId=127458&pageId=151986