College of LAS announces named scholar positions

Faculty members receive support for teaching and research
The Main Quad
Several faculty members in the College of LAS have received named scholar positions.

Several professors in the College of LAS have recently received named scholar positions for their contributions in education and research at the University of Illinois.

The named positions include the the Helen Corley Petit Scholars, the I.C. Gunsalus Scholar, the J. Andrew and Susan S. Langan Professorial Scholar, LAS Dean’s Distinguished Professorial Scholars, the Leslie Watt Scholar, and the Lynn M. Martin Professorial Scholar. They will receive financial support for their work. The awardees are as follows:

Helen Corley Petit Scholars (for early career scholars)

The I.C. Gunsalus Scholar (for scholars in the life and physical sciences)

The J. Andrew and Susan S. Langan Professorial Scholar (for exceptional mid-career faculty members in any area of the college)

  • Joaquin Rodriguez-Lopez, chemistry

LAS Alumni Distinguished Professorial Scholar

LAS Dean’s Distinguished Professorial Scholars

The Leslie Watt Scholar

  • Kathy Oberdeck, history

The Lynn M. Martin Professorial Scholar (for exceptional women teachers) 

News Source

College of LAS