Faculty members take new leadership posts in College of LAS

Executive officers in place for Fall '22
Foellinger Auditorium
Faculty members filled new leadership posts in time for the fall semester.

Fifteen faculty members have accepted new leadership positions in departments and other academic units within the College of LAS for the 2022-23 academic year.

The College of LAS has almost 70 departments, programs, schools, centers, and other academic units. Each unit is led by an executive officer.

“Our new executive officers are accomplished leaders in their fields,” said Venetria K. Patton, Harry E. Preble Dean of the College of LAS Designate. “I’m confident that they will do an outstanding job of fostering teaching and research within their units while also working with others across the College of LAS to fulfill and advance our academic mission.”

In addition, four faculty members have taken new leadership positions as associate deans or interim associate deans for the College of LAS.

Patton thanked the outgoing executive officers and associate deans for their contributions.

“These officers deserve our gratitude and appreciation for their leadership as we moved forward during this very challenging time,” Patton said.

The new executive officers include:

Antony Augoustakis, interim director, School of Literatures, Cultures & Linguistics

Eugene Avrutin, interim director, Program in Jewish Culture & Society

Diane Beck, interim head, Department of Psychology

Rakesh Bhatt, acting head, Department of Linguistics

Merle Bowen, interim head, Department of African American Studies

David Cooper, head, Department of Slavic Languages & Literatures

Jeff Douglas, acting head, Department of Statistics

Becky Fuller, head, Department of Evolution, Ecology & Behavior

Robin Kar, interim head, Department of Philosophy

Paul Kenis, director, School of Chemical Sciences (effective mid-November)

Reuben May, head, Department of Sociology

Ellen Moodie, director, LAS Global Studies

Harriett Murav, director, Program in Comparative & World Literature

Gilberto Rosas, interim chair, Department of Latina/Latino Studies

DeDe Ruggles, director, Unit for Criticism & Interpretive Theory

The new associate deans and interim associate deans include:

Wendy Heller, executive associate dean and associate dean for social and behavioral sciences

Curtis Perry, interim associate dean for humanities and interdisciplinary programs

Deanna Wisthuff, associate dean for advancement

Isabel Molina-Guzmán, interim associate dean for student academic affairs

News Source

Dave Evensen