In addition to alumni awards granted through LAS, many departments within the college bestow alumni awards. For more information about departmental awards, please contact the departments.

Congratulations to all the winners.


  • Department of Atmospheric Sciences

    Atmospheric Sciences Distinguished Alumna

    Susan Avery
    MS, ’74, physics; PhD, ’78, atmospheric sciences

  • Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

    Distinguished Alumni Award

    John Anderson
    MS, ’69; PhD, ’71, chemical engineering

    Joan Brennecke
    MS, ’87; PhD, ’89, chemical engineering

    Jack McWhirter
    BS, ’59, chemical engineering

    Robert Sankman
    BS, ’80, chemical engineering

    Young Alumni Achievement Award

    Fei Wen
    MS, ’06; PhD, ’10, chemical engineering

    Ajay Virkar
    BS, ’05, chemical engineering

  • Department of Geography & Geographic Information Science

    Early Career Alumni Achievement Award 

    Kory Konsoer
    PhD, ’14, geography

  • Department of Geology

    Alumni Achievement Award

    James Baroffio
    PhD, ’64, geology

  • Department of Mathematics

    Alumni Award for Outstanding Professional Achievement

    Howard Aizenstein
    BS, ’86, mathematics; MS, ’88; PhD, ’93, computer science; MD, ‘95

    James Donaldson
    MS ’63; PhD, ’65, mathematics

    Christine Heitsch
    BS, ’94, mathematics

    Edwin Perkins
    PhD, ’79, mathematics

    Actuarial Science Alumni of the Year Award

    Jonathan Ankney
    BS, ’96, actuarial science and finance

  • Department of Political Science

    Alumni Achievement Award

    Robert Doubek
    BA, ’66, political science

    Distinguished Service Award

    Robert Byars
    MA, ’65; PhD, ’69, political science

    Outstanding Young Alumni Award

    Nicholas Harrer
    BA, ’02, political science and speech communication

  • Department of Psychology

    Distinguished Alumni Award

    Rebecca Darr
    PS, '90, psychology