New executive officers named within the College of LAS

Sixteen faculty members take new leadership positions in 2021-22

Alma MaterSixteen faculty members have accepted new leadership positions in departments and other academic units within the College of LAS for the 2021-22 academic year.

The College of LAS has almost 70 departments, programs, schools, centers, and other academic units. Each unit is led by an executive officer.

“This is an important time for our new executive officers in the College of LAS,” said Venetria K. Patton, Harry E. Preble Dean of the College of LAS Designate. “Many challenges are ahead of us. Our new officers are proven teachers, researchers, and administrators. I look forward to working with them as we continue to meet the needs of the college and fulfill our academic mission.”

“I would also like to thank the outgoing officers for their work,” Patton added. “They all played pivotal roles as the College of LAS adjusted to remain a leader during this difficult chapter in our history. They deserve deep appreciation for what they accomplished.”

The new executive officers include:

Nicole Allen, acting head, Department of Psychology.

Melissa Bowles, head, Department of Spanish & Portuguese.

Vera Hur, chair, Department of Mathematics.

Craig Lundstrom, head, Department of Geology.  

Faranak Miraftab, acting director, Women & Gender in Global Perspectives Program.

Peter Mortensen, director, Center for Writing Studies.

Colleen Murphy, acting executive director, Illinois Global Institute.

Carl Niekerk, interim head, Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures.

Mimi Nguyen, chair, Department of Gender and Women’s Studies.

Curtis Perry, interim head, Department of Classics. Perry will serve in Fall 2021. Craig Williams will serve as interim head in Spring 2022.

Junaid Rana, head, Department of Asian American Studies.

Kelly Ritter, interim head, Department of Philosophy.

Joyce Tolliver, director, Program in Translation & Interpreting Studies

Renee Trilling, director, Program for Medieval Studies.

Angharad Valdivia, chair, Department of Latina/Latino Studies.

News Source

Dave Evensen