College of LAS announces new named faculty positions

Several professors honored for contributions to their field and educational mission
Foellinger Auditorium
The College of LAS has announced several named faculty posiitons.

Several professors in the College of LAS have recently received named scholar positions for their contributions in education and research at the University of Illinois.

The named positions include the Helen Corley Petit Scholars, the I.C. Gunsalus Scholar, and LAS Dean’s Distinguished Professorial Scholars. They will receive financial support for their work. The awardees are as follows:

The I.C. Gunsalus Scholar (for scholars in the life and physical sciences)

Simon Rogers, chemical and biomolecular engineering

Helen Corley Petit Scholars (for early career scholars)

Philip Anderson, evolution, ecology, and behavior

John Gallagher, English

Irvin Hunt, English

Natalie Lira, Latina/Latino studies

Ghassan Moussawi, gender and women’s studies and sociology

Naveen Narisetty, statistics

Sepideh Sadaghiani, psychology

LAS Dean’s Distinguished Professorial Scholars

Kathryn Clancy, anthropology

Francina Dominguez, atmospheric sciences

David Flaherty, chemical and biomolecular engineering

Katy Heath, plant biology

News Source

Dave Evensen