LAS professors bring honor and recognition to the college.

Have an honor you'd like to share with the Office of the Dean? Email us.

June 2007

  • John Rogers

    John Rogers, professor of chemistry and founding professor of materials science and engineering, will be honored with the 2007 Leo Hendrick Baekeland Award for the American Chemical Society, at an upcoming symposium. Rogers is renown for his multidisciplinary work in developing soft materials for molecular electronics, flexible "macroelectronic" circuits, nanophotonic structures, microfluidic devices, and microelectromechanical systems. He has published more than 175 papers and has nearly 60 patents, more than 30 of which are licensed or in active use.

  • Ben McCall, assistant professor of chemistry and astronomy, was awarded the 2007 Cottrell Scholar Award from the Research Corporation. McCall's research interests lie in the areas of high-resolution molecular spectroscopy and interstellar chemistry. McCall was awarded for his grant proposal, "New Approaches to Research and Teaching in Astrochemistry: Carbocation Spectroscopy and a Novel Laboratory Course."

May 2007

  • Yi Lu

    Yi Lu, professor of chemistry, received the Society of Biological Inorganic Chemistry's first Early Career Award. The multiple fields of research that Lu has contributed to include long-range electron transfer processes, bioenergetics, mixed valency in coordination chemistry, and the distribution and speciation of metal ions and other chemicals in biological systems.

  • Ken Suslick

    Ken Suslick, professor of chemistry, received the 2007 Sir George Stokes Medal from the Royal Society of Chemistry. Suslick is best known for his major contributions to the understanding of chemical effects of ultrasound. His work has helped create the first FDA-approved intravenously administered echo-contrast agent for echocardiography.

  • Gary Parker

    Gary Parker, professor of geology, received the first Selim Yalin Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Association of Hydraulic Engineering and Research. Parker's fields of specialty are sediment transport, river engineering, river morphodynamics, and sedimentation processes. He has served as a consulting engineer on river intake and bridge problems.

  • Photo courtesy of MIT Chemical Engineering

    Richard D. Braatz, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, was invested as the Millennium Chair. Braatz focuses his research on the modeling, design, and control of complex and multiscale systems, with applications in microelectronics, pharmaceuticals, and biotechnology. He has created methods that find applications in materials, medicine, and computers, where the control of events at the molecular and nanoscopic scales is critical to product quality.

  • Deborah Leckband

    Deborah E. Leckband, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, was invested as the Reid T. Milner Professor. Leckband has advanced the method of surface force measurements in order to study cell adhesion, molecular recognition, and the mechanical properties of proteins. Her goal is to determine the design rules for controlling cell and biomolecular interactions with materials.

  • Edmund G. Seebauer

    Edmund G. Seebauer, professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, was invested as the James W. Westwater Professor. Seebauer has focused his research on surface chemistry and transport in semiconductor-based microelectronics, nanotechnology, and catalysis. His work seeks to develop this fundamental science base, while simultaneously applying the findings to practical applications. See also October.

  • Renée Baillargeon

    Renée Baillargeon, professor of psychology, was invested as the Alumni Professor of Psychology. Baillargeon focuses her research on two areas of infant cognition: physical reasoning and psychological reasoning. Her findings have helped challenge the traditional characterization of infants as limited sensorimotor processors incapable of thought, and suggest that skeletal causal frameworks guide, from the start, infants' reasoning and learning about physical and psychological events.

  • Edward Diener, professor of psychology, was invested as the Joseph R. Smiley Professor. Diener researches the measurement of well-being; temperament and personality influences on well-being; theories of well-being; income and well-being; and cultural influences on well-being. See also June.

  • Lawrence Hubert, professor of psychology, statistics, and educational psychology, was invested as the Lyle H. Lanier Professor. Hubert has focused his research on the extensive development of what is now commonly referred to in literature as combinatorial data analysis. These methods have the generality to encompass an enormous variety of inference and analysis tasks relevant to the varied types of data collected in the behavioral and social sciences.

April 2007

  • Photo courtesy of the MacArthur Foundation

    Todd J. Martinez, professor of chemistry, was invested as the Edward William Gutgsell and Jane Marr Gutgsell Endowed Chair. Martinez has interests in the area of theoretical chemistry, specifically in the development and application of new methods for accurately and efficiently capturing quantum mechanical effects, which are crucial in understanding chemical bonding, molecular transformations, and reactions involving light.

  • James L. Best, professor of geology and geography, was invested as the Threet Professor of Sedimentary Geology. Best has worked internationally pioneering research in the interactions between turbulent flows, sediment transport, and the resultant shape of the beds of rivers, lakes, and the deep sea. His research has applications in both contemporary environmental management and the interpretation of ancient sedimentary successions.

  • Jeffrey Moore

    Jeffrey S. Moore, professor of materials science and engineering in the Department of Chemistry, was invested as the Murchison-Mallory Endowed Chair in Chemistry. Moore is internationally recognized for his work in the field of organic materials and polymer chemistry. Among the significant advances Moore and his coworkers have made, is the synthesis of the largest known pure hydrocarbon and a class of helical foldamers that are the most versatile and extensively studied to date.